

Action Results-Special Meeting Upper-Level Council Chambers 57 E. First Street Mesa, AZ 85201

The Housing and Community Development Advisory Board (HCDAB) of the City of Mesa met on Dec. 7, 2022, at 4:00 p.m. at the Upper-level Council Chamber, 57 E. First Street, Mesa, AZ 85201.

Public participation is welcome, and residents can provide a written comment or speak at the meeting. A public comment card is required 1 hour prior to the start of the meeting.

Board Members

Members Present	Absences	Staff Present	Guest Speakers
Sarah Frechette	Kevin Humphrey	Michelle Albanese	Tony Banegas
Jennifer Hill	Denise Moon	Constance Bachman	Marilee Baptiste
Walter Johnson	Shelley Reimann	Justin Boyd	Dawn Bogart
Nicolle Karantinos		Aaron Eaton	Cassie Brown
Mark Powell		Deanna Grogan	Erin Cowan-Hegg
Johanna Richards		Marcy Magallanez-Snow	Kathy DiNolfi
Habigail Nonthe Scott		Michele Payakovich	Roseann Donovan
			Amy Fa'atofe
			Allisia Fiorini
			Sherri Friend
			Greg Gasch
			Latrice Hickman
			Valerie Hollobaugh
			John Hopra
			Kymbrlee Hsu
			Don Jensen
			Joanne Kitts
			Kayla Kolar
			Nikki Kontz
			Tasha Lynch
			Bill McAllister
			Tamala McBath
			Erin Million
			Connie Phillips
			Robert Sanders
			Jackie Shelley
			Jessie Sims
			Ted Taylor
			Kari Taylor
			Whitney Thistle
			Barbara (Tot) Wallace

	Jenna Wasylak

I. Chair's Call to Order - Discussion only; no action taken by the Board.

A. Call meeting to order and roll call.

Nicolle Karantinos called the meeting to order at 4:01 p.m.

II. Approval of Minutes

A. Motion to approve HCDAB minutes

It was moved by Mark Powell, seconded by Johanna Richards to approve the December 6, 2022, meeting minutes.

Upon tabulation of votes, it showed:

AYES - Frechette - Hill - Johnson - Karantinos - Powell - Richards - Scott NAYES - None The motion passes.

Kevin Humphrey, Denise Moon, and Shelley Reimann were not present for the vote.

III. Items from Citizens Present - Discussion only; no action taken by the Board.

Members of the audience may address the Board on any item. State statute prohibits the Housing and Community Development Advisory Board (HCDAB) from discussing an item that is not on the agenda; however, the Board does listen to your concerns and has staff follow up on any questions you raise.

There were no items presented to the Board.

IV. Discussion and Action Items - Discussion only; no action taken by the Board.

A. Agency Presentations

Housing and Community Development Director Michelle Albanese welcomed the agency presenters thanked the Board members for their time and support, and thanked staff for coordinating and planning the annual funding process.

The application proposals were divided into two groups to split between two nights of presentations. For the presentations, agencies were provided 3 minutes to present for CDBG Public Service, ESG and Human Services and 8 minutes for CDBG Non-Public Services and HOME proposals. After each presentation, the Board had an opportunity to ask follow-up questions.

The City of Mesa is committed to making its public meetings accessible. For accommodations, translation, or additional information, please contact Housing & Community Development at least 48 hours in advance of the meeting at (480) 644-3536 or AzRelay 7-1-1 for those who are deaf or hard of hearing.

V. Scheduling of Meetings, Future agenda items, and General information, including those set forth below: - Discussion only; no action taken by the Board.

A. HCDAB Meeting

January 5, 2023, 6:00 p.m., Lower-Level Council Chambers, 57 E. First Street, Mesa, 85201.

B. HCDAB Meeting

February 2, 2023, 6:00 p.m., Lower-Level Council Chambers, 57 E. First Street, Mesa, 85201.

C. HCDAB Meeting

March 2, 2023, 6:00 p.m., Lower-Level Council Chambers, 57 E. First Street, Mesa, 85201.

VI. Adjourn the Meeting

It was moved by Johanna Richards and seconded by Mark Powell, to adjourn the meeting at 8:11 p.m.

Upon tabulation of votes, it showed:

AYES - Frechette - Hill - Johnson - Karantinos - Powell

NAYES – Richards

The motion passes.

Kevin Humphrey, Denise Moon, Shelley Reimann, and Habigail Nonthe Scott was not present for the vote.